Skip navigation

What is Wormhol

It’s basically a classic snake game, revamped to fit an omni-directional 3D world made of abstract surfaces. It means that your snake is not on a boring plane and sticks to the surface underneath. It also mean that the curvature of the surfaces changes the gameplay quite a bit.

>>> DOWNLOAD IT HERE <<<

Credits

We released it at the last ever Breakpoint demoparty where people showed some interest.

However, this first release was totally a bit rushed and a number of features did not get into the 1.0 release.

  • ATI compatibility
  • Torii
  • Arbitrary mesh
  • Editable levels
  • IA players
  • Rebindable keys
  • Joystick support
  • More speed
  • One-click installer
  • A replacement for this Black Ugly Background©
  • etc…

The game is playable as is, but you need 1, 2 or better 3 buddies to play with you.

Seems tough?

Consider it as a social game: a game where you actually socialize, with face-to-face real-time interaction.

What Optimus said about Wormhol

So what ?

Do you see ? That’s 15 fucking “o” ! Can you do better?

The story behind Wormhol

Three years ago, I was hired by a mathematics researcher to create an educational CD-rom. I created a very similar snake mini-game on a misunderstanding with my boss. Unfortunately the CD was not published and I finally came to the conclusion it would never be. My little sister, who was still playing the snake mini-game with friends, demanded an upgrade as her birthday present.

The fact was, I didn’t hold the IP, nor the development tools. I had to rewrite it.

I wanted to try something new, so firstly I started with XNA. I stopped when I realized the 2D vector class had virtual methods. Then I tried C++/DirectX, and realized it would take too much effort to rewrite all my engine. Finally I came back to the one and only D programming language. Thanks to that, the birthday dead-line was blown up by just a month.

This is my last production labelled under the Adinpsz name.

5 Comments

  1. Neat! I’ve found an amusing bug: on some geometries, you can get off the ground and fly into space. The easier way to do it is to go straight up to on of the needle in the spiky ball level. One of the needle will always send you into space if you’re straight. It’s also possible on the twin-balls level on the ball, but it’s harder to pull off.

  2. Hi Pierre,

    This is a known bug, thanks for reporting 🙂

  3. I really want to play your game, but it won’t load. do you need any software to play this?

  4. If you have an Intel GPU your chances or getting the game to launch are a lot smaller.

    In your wormhol.ini, put the following lines:
    [graphics]
    resolution=2
    fullscreen=false
    usePostProcessing=false
    useHDR=false
    blurQuality=false

    This increase your chances of the game running.

    In Windows 7, put the game on the Desktop else it won’t be able to write to the configuration file.

    Tell me if taht works for you 🙂

    • thank you, but I doesn’t help. about the Intel GPU, I don’t know a lot about computers so I asked someone else, he said that he didn’t know for sure, but he didn’t though that it used an Intel GPU. He was talking about AND or something.


Leave a Reply

